top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelbe Douglass

Kallums Nursery

When I first found out I was pregnant, I couldn’t wait to find out the gender so I could start planning the nursery theme. I don’t know how some of you mamas wait to till birth to find out, but I could NOT. I also had very different ideas for a girl and boy. My thoughts weren’t gender neutral, which seems to be the norm. Now, I LOVE the gender neutral nurseries I’ve seen, and if I could do it again, that’s probably the way I’d go. When we found out we were having a boy, I went to good ole Pinterest & started looking so I could narrow down what I wanted. And this was our inspiration:


Now Kallums room had been a few things before it became a nursery. It was my makeup room, then I got pregnant for the first time and took everything out to make it a nursery. But we ended up losing the baby...a story for another time. After that it went back to being a makeup room & then a workout room. Once I got pregnant with Kallum, it Became his room. This is what we had to start with:

It was just very blah. But had great natural light. The first thing we did was make our own wainscoting. My husband went to Home Depot & got the lumber and caulk all for around $60.



We didn’t go as high as the inspiration photo because I had some pieces I wanted to hang above the wainscoting (a mirror) that I didn’t want coming off and hitting Kal. Next we painted. My husband works as a commercial & residential painter, so he went the Sherwin Williams & got the colors. For the wainscoting I believe the color we went with was Seaworthy, but don’t quote me. And for the top I just picked a white.



Then became the fun part that I could actually assist with! DECORATING! The rug I chose came from Overstock.com and it just fits the room perfectly. And he can still have it as he gets older. That was my point, to have a room that I don’t have to change as he grows up. Will I change it? Probably. I literally can’t stop changing my house. But at least if I don‘t want too, I don’t have too. Pretty much 99% of all decor in this nursery came from overstock.com. His crib was a gift and came from Walmart, as did his rocker & dresser.

I love how his room came out & it always gets so many compliments.






20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page