top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelbe Douglass

Working Mama


When I got pregnant, we knew I’d still need to be working. There was no way, financially, we could afford for me to stay home. After 4 months of Maternity Leave, I also realized I wasn’t a “stay at home“ mom type. I know that sounds bad, but I needed to leave the house, get time to myself. I suffered from extreme postpartum depression & anxiety & I still do. And as much as I loved my son, I was ready to get back to work. Thankfully I was able to cut my hours from 5 days a week to 4. So I get Fridays with Kallum, and then the weekend. I don’t feel theres as big of a stigma now, but I know there used to be a big one when a mother decided to go back to work. But times are different now, and I’m very thankful for that. Most of my mom friends work full time jobs as well, and it’s nice having that connection. I fully believe, everyone should be able to mother the way they desire. As long as your child is taken care of & gets that quality time with you, that’s all that matters right?

Who knows, maybe one day I’ll find myself in a position to be home maybe 3 days a week? But right now, I enjoy my job & what I do and who I work with. And I know my son is being taken care of by his sitter who constantly sends me pictures and updates. He knows I love him, and he knows this because when I’m home, I’m present. And at the end of the day, that’s what matters.

✌🏼

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page